Requested about McCarthy’s antics at her Thursday press convention, Pelosi declined to interact, saying that was a matter for the GOP caucus.

“We’re dedicated to doing one thing that honors the imaginative and prescient of our founders,” Pelosi responded. “It is going to be excessive stage and it should justify the help of the American individuals. It isn’t political so I am not getting concerned in any dialogue of what goes on within the Republican caucus.”

Rep. Cheney, who was certainly one of solely two Republicans to vote in favor of the choose committee, appeared undeterred by McCarthy’s threats.

“Those that are liable for the assault must be held accountable and this choose committee will fulfill that accountability in an expert, expeditious, and non-partisan method,” Cheney wrote in a press release.

The one different Republican to offer the choose committee a thumbs up, Rep. Adam Kinzinger of Illinois, was much less diplomatic about McCarthy’s warning. 

“Who provides a shit?” Kinzinger offered. 

In his personal press convention Thursday, McCarthy declined to say whether or not he would title any GOP members to the committee. Requested about Cheney’s participation, McCarthy took the chance to query her loyalty to the Republican Social gathering. “Possibly she’s nearer to [Pelosi] than us,” he quipped.


The choose committee can have full subpoena powers and, though Pelosi declined to get into it, McCarthy’s telephone name with Donald Trump amid the violent Jan. 6 siege will virtually certainly change into a central a part of the investigation. None aside from Cheney has instructed McCarthy should testify earlier than the committee and be subpoenaed if he refuses to cooperate with the investigation.

Rep. Thompson, the committee chair, stated Thursday the committee may name on McCarthy to testify together with Trump and maybe different members of the GOP caucus. He additionally stated the probe would prolong into subsequent yr.


Listed here are the eight choose committee members introduced Thursday:

  • Chair Bennie Thompson: Chair of Homeland Safety Committee
  • Chair Zoe Lofgren: Chair of Committee on Home Administration
  • Chair Adam Schiff: Chair of Home Everlasting Choose Committee on Intelligence
  • Rep. Pete Aguilar, Home Administration and Appropriations Committees
  • Rep. Liz Cheney, Armed Providers Committee
  • Rep. Stephanie Murphy, Armed Providers Committee
  • Rep. Jamie Raskin, Oversight and Judiciary Committees
  • Rep. Elaine Luria, Navy veteran, Armed Providers and Homeland Safety Committees